

RHONDDA CYNON TAF COUNCIL LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS APPOINTMENTS COMMITTEE

Minutes of the meeting of the Local Education Authority Governors Appointments Committee held on Tuesday, 23 March 2021 at 10.00 am .

County Borough Councillors - Local Education Authority Governors Appointments Committee Members in attendance:-

Councillor J Rosser (Chair)

Councillor D Owen-Jones Councillor M Powell Councillor J Brencher

Officers in attendance:-

Miss N Morgan, School Organisation and Governance Team Leader

6 Apology For Absence

An apology for absence was received from County Bourough Councillor S Rees-Owen.

7 Declaration of Interest

RESOLVED – In accordance with the Members Code of Conduct, the following declaration of personal interest in a matter pertaining to the agenda was declared :-

County Borough Councillor D Owen –Jones in respect of Agenda Item 4 "I am an Applicant at Williamstown Primary School"

8 Minutes

It was **RESOLVED** to approve the minutes of the 24th November 2020 as an accurate reflection of the meeting.

9 To Consider Passing the Under-mentioned Resolution

RESOLVED that the press and public be excluded from the meeting under Section 100A (4) of the Local Government Act 1972 for the following item of business on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in paragraph 13 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act (as amended), namely, information relating to a particular individual. Transparency in the conduct of Local Authority business is desirable, however, personal data relating to the conduct and capabilities of individuals will be discussed and considered. Consequently, it is considered the public interest in maintaining the exemption outweighs and the public interest in disclosing information

10 APPLICATION FOR APPOINTMENT OF LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS

In her report, the School Organisation and Governance Team Leader advised the Committee of applications received for Local Education Authority governorships.

In addition to the applications listed in the report, eight late applications for governorships were circulated for consideration.

Following consideration of the applications before them, Members **RESOLVED** that the following persons be appointed as Local Education Authority Governors, as set out below:

SCHOOL	GOVERNOR	EFFECTIVE DA
Abercynon Community Primary	CBC E George	11 th July 2021
Caradog Primary	CBC S Bradwick	23 rd March 2021
Coedpenmaen Primary	Mr P Cartlidge	23rd March 2021
Cwmdar Primary	Mrs M Plummer	23 rd March 2021
Penrhys Primary	Mr J Evans	23 rd March 2021
Ton Pentre Infants	Mr J Evans	23 rd March 2021
Ton Pentre Junior	CBC M Weaver	11 th July 2021
Tonysguboriau Primary	Mrs A Bess	23rd March 2021
Trallwyng Infants	Cllr L Davies	11 th July 2021
Tref yr Rhyg Primary	CBC D Grehan	23 rd March 2021
Williamstown Primary	CBC D Owen- Jones	11 th July 2021
YGG Bronllwyn	CBC L Jones	23 rd March 2021
YGG Bronllwyn	Mrs W Allsop	11 th July 2021
Ysgol Hen Felin	Mr D Macey	23 rd March 2021
Bryn Celynnog Comprehensive	Mrs H Clifford	23rd March 2021
Pontypridd High School	Mr I Mclean	11 th July 2021
St John C in W Comprehensive	CBC G Jones	11 th July 2021
Treorchy Comprehensive School	Mr K Morgan	11 th July 2021

(**Note**: Having earlier declared a personal and prejudicial interest in the matter County Borough Councillor D Owen Jones left the meeting for the Appointment of Governors at Williamstown Primary)

11 URGENT BUSINESS

This meeting closed at 10.45 am

CLLR J ROSSER CHAIR.